1. Друзья, в это тяжёлое и непонятное для всех нас время мы просим вас воздержаться от любых упоминаний политики на форуме, - этим ситуации не поможешь, а только возникнут ненужные ссоры и обиды. Это касается также шуток и юмора на тему конфликта. Пусть войны будут только виртуальными, а политики решают разногласия дипломатическим путём. С уважением, администрация Old-Games.RU.

    Скрыть объявление
  2. Если Вы видите это сообщение, значит, вы ещё не зарегистрировались на нашем форуме.

    Зарегистрируйтесь, если вы хотите принять участие в обсуждениях. Перед регистрацией примите к сведению:
    1. Не регистрируйтесь с никами типа asdfdadhgd, 354621 и тому подобными, не несущими смысловой нагрузки (ник должен быть читаемым!): такие пользователи будут сразу заблокированы!
    2. Не регистрируйте больше одной учётной записи. Если у вас возникли проблемы при регистрации, то вы можете воспользоваться формой обратной связи внизу страницы.
    3. Регистрируйтесь с реально существующими E-mail адресами, иначе вы не сможете завершить регистрацию.
    4. Обязательно ознакомьтесь с правилами поведения на нашем форуме, чтобы избежать дальнейших конфликтов и непонимания.
    С уважением, администрация форума Old-Games.RU
    Скрыть объявление

Thief 2 tech issues

Тема в разделе "International Zone", создана пользователем DOS навсегда, 25 июл 2011.

  1. DOS навсегда

    DOS навсегда

    Регистрация:
    28 янв 2010
    Сообщения:
    216
    I decided to just post this here, in English, because I don't want to get into any too deep tech discussion in a language I'm not too epic with. :D

    Basically, Thief 2 hangs after a little while of playing. I tried the Dark Engine Fix, and after I input the game folder and clicked установить, a screen flashed by too fast to read (I assume it was the installing screen), and then a DOS shell screen which said "Dark Engine Fix," so I assumed that was done because when I tried to re-run it, it said it was already installed.

    Anyway, after that, I ran the game, and it ran a little longer than it had before, but it still hung, but I noticed that the character, who was speaking at the time, finished his speech when the game hung, so I decided to try the thief2vidfix thing, from darkfate.ru, but that said it needed Thief 2 v. 1.07, and I had 1.18 (I used the .exe). I tried the single-CPU fix, but when I click "Set Affinity" in the menu (English equivalent of "задать соответствие" in case anyone doesn't know what I'm talking about), it just says something about me not having permission to do that.

    Any ideas?

    -DOS forever
     
  2.  
  3. Virgil Администратор

    Virgil

    Администратор

    Регистрация:
    2 янв 2005
    Сообщения:
    10.827
    You should limit the number of CPU cores available for that game to one, this should solve the problem, and if the game runs too fast, you could try forcing V-sync in your video card driver settings.
     
  4. DOS навсегда

    DOS навсегда

    Регистрация:
    28 янв 2010
    Сообщения:
    216
    But Virgil, as I just said, when I click "Set Affinity," I get the message that I don't have permission to do that.

    -DOS forever
     
  5. SMArt Страшила мудрый

    SMArt

    Супер-модератор

    Регистрация:
    19 фев 2006
    Сообщения:
    2.778
    DOS навсегда, try to use utility "RunWithAffinity". Download here. If you still get message about permission, run it as Administrator (Click right mouse button on executable file and choose "Run as Administrator").
     
  6. Virgil Администратор

    Virgil

    Администратор

    Регистрация:
    2 янв 2005
    Сообщения:
    10.827
    Then you should get those permissions... You need administrator's privileges, if you don't have them already.
     
  7. Eraser Чистильщик

    Eraser

    Хелпер

    Регистрация:
    29 дек 2001
    Сообщения:
    9.776
    Like SMArt and Virgil have said, you do not have administrator's privileges. I bet it's also the reason DarkEngineFix has failed to fix the muti-core problem. Re-run it as Administrator.
     
  8. DOS навсегда

    DOS навсегда

    Регистрация:
    28 янв 2010
    Сообщения:
    216
    My computer account is administrator... however I will try running the program as admin.

    Just tried that, and... no luck. I'm telling you, it's not admin problem. My account on this computer is an administrative account.

    -DOS forever
     
    Последнее редактирование: 28 июл 2011
  9. Eraser Чистильщик

    Eraser

    Хелпер

    Регистрация:
    29 дек 2001
    Сообщения:
    9.776
    Since you have Vista, I hope the game isn't installed to C:\Program Files?
     
  10. DOS навсегда

    DOS навсегда

    Регистрация:
    28 янв 2010
    Сообщения:
    216
    Nope, C:\Games\Thief 2.

    -DOS forever
     
  11. Eraser Чистильщик

    Eraser

    Хелпер

    Регистрация:
    29 дек 2001
    Сообщения:
    9.776
    Hmmm. Try to check the the UAC slider.
     
  12. DOS навсегда

    DOS навсегда

    Регистрация:
    28 янв 2010
    Сообщения:
    216
    I never heard of that, and when I search it, I only get Windows 7 hits. I mean, I know what User Account Control is, but I never heard of a slider related to it.

    -DOS forever
     
  13. Eraser Чистильщик

    Eraser

    Хелпер

    Регистрация:
    29 дек 2001
    Сообщения:
    9.776
    DOS навсегда, it regulates those "Are you sure you want to run this program?!" messages. Check the Control Panel - User Accounts.
     
  14. TBAPb MIA

    TBAPb

    Хелпер

    Регистрация:
    26 сен 2005
    Сообщения:
    1.430
    Start notepad, type there
    start /affinity 1 NAMEOFEXEFILE.EXE
    replace NAMEOFEXEFILE.EXE with game's exe file (Thief2.exe I suppose, but not sure, never played)
    select File -> Save As, go to C:\Games\Thief 2 folder, in "File type" select "All files (*.*)", in the name type runthief.cmd
    Try running this file.
     
  15. TBAPb MIA

    TBAPb

    Хелпер

    Регистрация:
    26 сен 2005
    Сообщения:
    1.430
    Eraser, slider is in Win7 only, in Vista it is only checkbox.

    DOS навсегда, see attached screenshot (in russian, but):
     

    Вложения:

    • vista-uac.JPG
      vista-uac.JPG
      Размер файла:
      56,4 КБ
      Просмотров:
      471
    Eraser нравится это.
  16. Eraser Чистильщик

    Eraser

    Хелпер

    Регистрация:
    29 дек 2001
    Сообщения:
    9.776
    TBAPb, true, forgot about that.
     
  17. DOS навсегда

    DOS навсегда

    Регистрация:
    28 янв 2010
    Сообщения:
    216
    Tried the start /affinity 1 fix thing; it hung faster than last time. I can try disabling UAC, but somehow, I really doubt that will help. It doesn't seem to be a UAC-related issue. Attached is a screenshot of the error message I get. But even if disabling UAC would allow me to set affinity, it doesn't seem like it would do any good, because, assuming that .cmd program worked, I would have already tried using single-processor affinity.

    -DOS forever
     

    Вложения:

    • thieferror.jpg
      thieferror.jpg
      Размер файла:
      209,7 КБ
      Просмотров:
      386
  18. Eraser Чистильщик

    Eraser

    Хелпер

    Регистрация:
    29 дек 2001
    Сообщения:
    9.776
    I'm pretty much sure it didn't. If, for some reason, you do not have privileges to edit the game files and processes, none of the ways to edit them (DEFix, .cmd file, manual affinity settings) will do the job - they will all get denied access.
     
  19. DOS навсегда

    DOS навсегда

    Регистрация:
    28 янв 2010
    Сообщения:
    216
    So what are you saying? Disabling UAC will, in fact, help this matter?

    -DOS forever
     
  20. Virgil Администратор

    Virgil

    Администратор

    Регистрация:
    2 янв 2005
    Сообщения:
    10.827
    I think it will be more fruitful, if you go to the most populated Thief forums and search for the answers there. Most of the solutions listed in our Thief thread were taken from there anyway.
     
  21. TBAPb MIA

    TBAPb

    Хелпер

    Регистрация:
    26 сен 2005
    Сообщения:
    1.430
    In this case - you MUST, before changing affinity, press "Show Processes for all users", this will elevate taskmgr and allow you to change affinity
     
    kreol и Eraser нравится это.
  1. На этом сайте используются файлы cookie, чтобы персонализировать содержимое, хранить Ваши предпочтения и держать Вас авторизованным в системе, если Вы зарегистрировались.
    Продолжая пользоваться данным сайтом, Вы соглашаетесь на использование нами Ваших файлов cookie.
    Скрыть объявление